We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Hermit's Grove - LP

by Wax Machine

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £999 GBP  or more


Springtime 03:01
All I Can Do 03:32
Face Of All 03:10
Gaian Dream 07:17



Surfing on a sun-drenched wave of psychedelia comes
Brighton’s very own Merry Pranksters, Wax Machine.
Primarily recorded and mixed in a closet room directly
above a mortuary, their self-produced album Hermit’s Groove
is a heady trip through progressive psychedelia, kitsch
Italian library music and Brazilian tropicalia. Led off by
the single Guardians of Eden, the album is set for release
on 1st July via Batov Records (Şatellites, Sababa 5).

Wax Machine is the project of Brazilian-born,
Italian/English-raised Lau Ro, who takes a deep dive into
their Brazilian heritage on this LP, taking inspiration
from 60s tropicalia music and movement and the likes of Os
Mutantes, Caetano Veloso and Gal Costa.

“Brazil is where I was born and grew up until I was 8 years
old, and it's where my family is from. We then immigrated
to Europe and I was never able to visit Brazil after that
as it's a very expensive flight. Instead I've opted for the next best thing which is connecting with the spirit and
culture of Brazil via the medium of music.”

The album features a version of Canto De Iemanja from
Vinicius De Moraes and Baden Powell's seminal 1966
Brazilian album Os Afro-sambas. Canto De Iemanja is about
the goddess of the sea Iemanja, a chant Lau has often found
themselves singing to the sea in their hometown of

“The ocean is a muse of mine. I go to the sea whenever I
can, her presence enlivens, refreshes and brings me deeper
awareness. This version is a homage both to my motherland
and the great big blue that separates us.”

The first single and album opener Guardians of Eden is
carried in on a cloud of flutes and birdsong. The first
half celebrates the light and beauty of this world, while
the second half is a reflection on the shadow of our
existence here. The three minute, psychedelic explosion of
Springtime is a "meditation on the cycles of nature, the
dance of duality, the swinging of the cosmic pendulum.”

Two EPs in 2018 preceded their debut album Earthsong of
Silence in 2020, with Clash Magazine declaring that Wax
Machine “occupy a space somewhere in the gaps where English
psych-folk, sun drenched West Coast sounds, Brazilian
Tropicália and spiritual jazz overlap.” That year they also
had a track featured on the Mr. Bongo Record Club 4

Although there is constantly evolving line up both in
studio and on stage, long time collaborators Toma Sapir
(drums, percussions, samples/synths), Isobel Jones
(Flute/Vocals) and Ella Russell (vocals in Canto De
lemanja) all appear on both albums.

A tour de force live, the group have shared the stage with
the likes of the Babe Rainbow, Kikagaku Moyo and Vanishing
Twin. The band are currently in the midst of a UK and
European tour, ending with a homecoming show in Brighton on
27th May.

On the album Isobel Jones plays Flute/Vocals, Toma Sapir -
drums, percussions and samples/synths, Freddie Willatt – sax,
Ella Russell - vocals in “Canto De lemanja”, Kate Mager - bass
in “...Iemanja”, Adam Campbell - electric piano, Marja
Burchard(from Embryo/Karl Hector) - vibraphones on “Gaian


released July 1, 2022

'Compositions written and arranged by Lau, except for Canto De Iemanjá (written by Vinícius de Moraes and Baden Powell)

Lau - guitars, bass, vocals, percussion, drums (on Springtime)
Toma Sapir - drums, percussion, samples/synths
Isobel Jones - flute, vocals
Adam Campbell - electric piano
Freddie Willatt - tenor saxophone
Marja Burchard - vibraphone (on Gaian Dream)
Ella Russell - vocals (on Canto De Iemanjá)
Kate Mager - bass (on Canto De Iemanjá)

Recorded and mixed by Lau
Additional recording by Joseph Thorpe (on Canto De Iemanjá and Gaian Dream) at Brighton Electric Studio
Mastered by Gareth Small

Artwork by Andrew McGranahn
Photography by Zofia Szymanowska (on the insert)

Special thanks to Melanie Xulu, Malcolm Catto, Russ Saunders, Helen Young, Daisy Rickman, Fae Haley, Grace Brangwyn, Kt Allen, Violet Fernfairy, Edmund Lloyd-Winder, Rose Dutton, Pete Piskov and everyone who took part in this project. This record would not be here without all your support and encouragement.

This album was made during a transformational time in my life. The music was a doorway into an inner world beyond the limitations of my old identity. It is an invocation of the Sun and the Sea. An exploration into the tones of my Brazilian roots. The sound of surrendering to blissful solitude. An ode to mother Earth and a call for reconnection with her divine flow.
It was also mostly recorded and mixed in a tiny closet room directly above the mortuary in a funeral care place. It was quite a challenge working around the hum of the refrigerator, trying to keep my feet warm and dealing with the ghosts in the machine...
Love to all! - Lau'

℗ © Batov Records 2022 | BTR062


all rights reserved



Wax Machine Brighton, UK





contact - waxmachinemusic@gmail.com
... more

contact / help

Contact Wax Machine

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Wax Machine recommends:

If you like Wax Machine, you may also like: